Parenting Plan

Hello All

This is my first posting on my new blog

Parenting is a tricky business, one I thought I had ‘down’… that is until I had children of my own. That changed things a bit! Not just ideas of how I would be as a parent, but as a person in general.

I used to be the kind of person who would get back to my friends within an hour of getting a message, I was never late for social events, I enjoyed going out every evening and had plans all the time. I thought I would be able to maintain some of this as a parent. With my daughter I could still muster energy for nights out on occasion. I say nights out, what I mean is time with friends to then get home for 9:30pm to not miss her feed or my sleep. That counts as a night out, right? Now an evening out seems impossible, not because of the children really, but because I’m so exhausted by the evening. I know this will change when hey get bigger but for now it seems like a distant dream. Another change is that I am always late! For everything. Even my daughter says ‘ quick mummy we’re late’ after hearing me say it on a daily basis.

I thought my children would take a bottle, I would breastfeed for 6 months max, I would set very firm boundaries and not tolerate tantrums or public meltdowns and my children would sleep through the night from 6 months. How wrong I was!

My children are both bottle refusers. My husband and I joke about my son being a boob addict as he still prefers milk to food. They don’t sleep through the night. It took my daughter a whole year to sleep through even once and my son is still a way off. My daughter has public meltdowns from time to time and I have learnt that getting cross or telling her off is pointless at these times.

My hopes and aims for my children are to give them roots to cling to and wings to fly (as the great poem that inspired this blogs name)

I guess it is a lesson that sometimes we can’t plan how we will be in any given situation. We can’t know how we might approach things in the future or when we have life changing events and therefore we can never judge what others do when we do not know how it is to walk in their shoes. Like everything in life that is worth doing, parenting can be very challenging, but the rewards are in everyday things. a cuddle, a smile, a laugh. That makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

