How dirty is too dirty?

too-dirty

This is not what you think… I’m talking about clothes.

Since becoming a mum my standards, when it comes to dirty clothes, have certainly gone down. And not just a bit. Long gone are the days I would whip off an outfit at the mere hint of a mark (by whip off, I mean at home or in private). I would have been mortified at the thought of going out in public in anything less than pristine. These were the same days I would change my bra daily.

Now I live in dirty clothes. Don’t get me wrong, I wash them. It feels like all I do is wash clothes, yet still I can’t seem to spend an entire day in clean clothes. Scrap that, I can’t spend 10 minutes in clean clothes with my children! It started in pregnancy and has escalated ever since. By the third trimester I was so big that I would regularly get stains under my bump, which I of course didn’t see or notice until I changed for bed. I couldn’t believe I had spent the day with food below my bump, or on my trousers and I hadn’t noticed. Now I can’t believe it if I don’t have some kind of stain on me.

Regular marks I am now sporting, or as I prefer to think of it, rocking…

          Snot (not mine) on my shoulders, legs, arms  – how does this stuff get everywhere? I am a human tissue!

          Mud at the tops of my legs from carrying my children with wellies on. I don’t seem to learn and never notice the mud right away.

          Dribble on my lower calves, shoulders and arms (not mine) Bloody teething!

          Food stains. Everywhere. The other day my friend pointed out some dried Weetabix on my back! How?? Probably because my children seem to mistake me on all fours cleaning the floor, for a horse ride and climb on top of me every time I am cleaning.

          Sick. Thank goodness this is now extremely rare but for the first year of my son’s life I had at least some sick on me, often so much that I would carry a spare pair of clothes.

Now, here is the challenge…am I alone? Do you know go out ‘rocking’ some bodily fluid or dirt that a small person created? And how dirty is too dirty? Did you used to go home and change at the first sign of dirt, do you now relax that? Share photos or stories on my Facebook. I’d love to know I’m not the only mummy in dirty clothes.

 

Leave a Reply

